Limpopo Wildlife Training Facebook  Africa Expection Linkedin  

Pygmy Antelope

The Tiny Ten Antelopes of Southern Africa

Though often overshadowed by the Big 5, hunting the tiny 10 species of pygmy antelope in Africa can be an extremely challenging and fulfilling experience.

SCI Trophy Records has identified four groups of small African antelope including Pygmy Antelope, Dik-Diks, Bush Duikers and Forest Duikers, with a total of 35 species amongst those groups in their “Inner Circle of African Animals”. The Forest Duikers are the largest group with 15 species; the Pygmy Antelope have 10 species, the Dik-Dik’s 6 species and the Bush Duikers four. SCI also has an “Inner Circle of Pygmy Antelopes of Africa” which combines all four groups.

The Tiny 10 is a group of pygmy antelope residing in Southern Africa in at least 3 different countries. All of these antelope are extremely small; the largest specimens weighing less than 50 pounds. Not only do they present a small target, but since they are so small and delicate, choosing the appropriate ammunition for hunting the Tiny 10 is extremely important. While much attention is focused on hunting the large and glamorous African species, like kudu and buffalo, hunting the Tiny 10 is an often overlooked, but an exciting, challenging, and fulfilling experience for the dedicated hunter. This is a tough hunt strictly for the ultra collector after Africa's pygmy antelopes.

Cartridges: Since a high velocity expanding bullet can cause extensive damage to the hide of any of these antelope, many hunters prefer to use non-expanding solids, small caliber rimfire cartridges (where legal), or a shotgun. Additionally, all of the members of the Tiny 10 are shy and skittish. For some of these species, just spotting them while hunting can be difficult. Actually making a successful shot is even more challenging.

Add to this the fact that no country has all 10 species; successfully hunting the Tiny 10 can be an extremely difficult endeavour indeed.

Tiny Ten Species

  1. Damara Dik-Dik
  2. Blue Duiker
  3. Common Duiker (also called Grey Duiker or Bush Duiker)
  4. Red Forest Duiker (also called Red Duiker, Natal Duiker or Natal Red Duiker)
  5. Cape Grysbok (also called Southern Grysbok)
  6. Sharp's Grysbok (also called Northern Grysbok)
  7. Klipspringer
  8. Oribi
  9. Steenbok (also known as Steinbuck or Steinbok)
  10. Suni